New Post: A Few Thoughts on the Passing of Steve Byrnes

By, Kyle Gibson

Ok, I know this is a soccer blog, but I want to take a few seconds to talk about NASCAR and one of its favorite members of the media, who passed away after a long fight with cancer.

Steve Byrnes twitter bio read as follows “Host,NASCAR RaceHub on FOXSports1. Play by Play for NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Bryson’s Dad, Karen’s husband. Cancer Survivor. Cancer patient.”

On Tuesday, Byrnes died after beating cancer, only to have it come back and claim him.

Byrnes will best be remembered in the NASCAR world for his pit road reports since 2001 and some of the memorable quotes he received from his NASCAR on FOX Days.

He always was professional on air and he was beloved by his colleagues and the NASCAR garage.

He died two days after NASCAR, FOX and Bristol Motor Speedway dedicated the Sprint Cup Series race to him, calling it the Food City 500 in Support of Steve Byrnes.

At lap 250, the entire broadcast crew stood up as part of the “Stand up to Cancer” Campaign and held signs that said “Steve.” At times, it looked hard for them to keep it together.

NASCAR has always held a big place in my heart. It has been a family affair since I was born and I watch and attend races every chance I get. Byrnes was around for a lot of my NASCAR on FOX watching and I always appreciated his professionalism and insight. He would always have quality info on the drivers he was covering on pit road and the changes they would be making on stops.

I think I’m not alone in saying that I’m praying for his wife Karen and son Bryson. I lost my grandmother (a huge NASCAR fan) in November after a long fight against cancer and I know how tough it can be.

I’ll close with a quote from the late, great Stuart Scott.

“When you die, it does not mean that you lose to cancer. You beat cancer by how you live, why you live, and in the manner in which you live.”

Leave a Reply

