Final Post of 2014: I had a crazy, sad, but ultimately an awesome year.

By, Kyle Gibson

I’d wondered over the past couple days about what kind of year-end digest I wanted to write. Would I rank the top 10 stories? Should I rank the top ten players?

I’ve decided, though, to talk about the year I had, in a space that’s not in people’s face like Facebook and also longer than Twitter.

When people ask in movies if you want the good news or bad news, people always say the good first. So, I’ll start with that.

Since I’m writing on this blog, I’ll start with it. The 2014 World Cup saw huge traffic and some of the best posts I’ve done, despite predicting Brazil to win it all. The blog actually saw great numbers, even though I don’t post as often as I should. I also started a podcast, which has been really fun.

2014 was also the year I graduated college, thankfully on time, with a degree in broadcast journalism from a school I love, Marshall University.

After deciding I didn’t really want to do broadcast anymore, I also got to cross another item off the bucket list by getting accepted into grad school. I now work for Marshall athletics and am the primary contact for three great sports, Marshall swimming and diving, Marshall softball and Marshall men’s soccer.

This was also a year with some really unfortunate setbacks. I have to mention getting diagnosed with Type II diabetes, which has changed my life. I’m just now starting to understand the dedication it’s going to take to get my sugar where it needs to be at all times.

However, that is nothing compared to the thing I’ll always associate 2014 with. In January, the day before I went back to Marshall from break, my grandma, Rebecca Ann Gibson, was diagnosed with lung cancer.

She fought as hard as she could, harder than I thought she could fight. She still got to do some great things as well. For example, we took trips to the beach and camping that I’ll never forget. Even though she was short of breath, I think she still ultimately had a great time.

The cancer just came to be too much to fight though and she passed away in November. We were in the room with her. I’ve never cried so hard in my life and I hope I never will again.

For all these things I’ve done, a high school radio show, two college radio shows, middle school and high school soccer, theater performances, she was there. She was my biggest fan.

I used to joke to her that I could speak gibberish for an hour, or have five own goals and she would still say I had a great performance.

There are people that shape you, people in your life that give you a blueprint for how to live. Nana (that’s what we called her) did that for me. She was the kindest person I’ve ever met (I’m a journalist, so I say that without bias). She was also honest and full of love. I’ve never met a person who loved as much as she did.

Among the things I’ll never forget about her, and there are so many, I’ll never forget these lessons I learned by example from her. She gave me a blueprint for how to live and one for how to raise my kids.

I’m single and not anywhere close to having kids, but I wish they could have felt that love from her.

When she was in the hospital, I made a promise to her, one that I’d been thinking about for the better part of two years anyway.

If i have a daughter, and if my wife will let me, I’d like for my daughter to have the name Ann, after the inspiration behind my achievements.

We’ll all never forget her, and we’ll all never be over her being gone, but we had so many great years with her and can’t wait to be reunited with her again.

She was proud of so many things I did in 2014, which is what ultimately made it an awesome year.

Leave a Reply

