Not Quite About Soccer: A Book Review

I know, I know, this is a blog about soccer, but I have to mention this awesome book I finished. I recently picked up the book “Enchantment” by Guy Kawasaki, the former “Chief Evangelist” of Apple. I read the book for a class, but during the reading I started to realize I was enjoying the book. Kawasaki writes to show people how to use “enchantment” to get people behind a cause. This starts with Kawasaki showing how to achieve like-ability with people and moves all the way to how to chant your employees or boss.

So what is enchantment? My absolute favorite line in this book came early on with page 2. Kawasaki says “When you enchant people, your goal is not to make money from them or get them to do what you want, but to fill them with great delight (Kawasaki, 2).” This is important for all of us, because we will have a time in our working life when we need to win people over. Doing it the right way is paramount.

I plan on taking what Kawasaki said in his book and using it as I embark on a career in soccer. I am going to scrap and fight until I can find a job with this beautiful game. Kawasaki’s book has shown me the way to start my road to enchantment and I would recommend you check it out, because it will do the same for you.

Leave a Reply

